The Week After Detox

The chains of habit are generally too small to be felt
until they are too strong to be broken.
~Samuel Johnson

While on my detox, I lost eight pounds.  I was elated!!!!  I was seeing numbers I hadn’t seen in a very long time.  I was so encouraged!

But then it was time to go back to the real world.  It was time to see how I would navigate meals and snacks.  Needless to say, I was nervous.

My friend had sent me an email with several recipes, so I felt a little better, but it was things like breakfast, lunch, and snacks that worried me the most.  I realize that losing 30 pounds in nine weeks is a VERY lofty goal.  One that I realize will probably not happen, but I needed to aim high.

I need to aim high for myself.

As I said in my previous post, losing just 18 pounds would put me on the higher end of my healthy weight range.  After losing a good amount of weight the previous week, I was so nervous about gaining it all back!

I meal planned for the week, went shopping, and started the week.  Here went nothing!

Monday came and went.  I made dinner.  I had a healthy lunch and breakfast.  I felt fantastic!
That’s when it hit me…

I CAN DO THIS!

For those of you that read my last post, I told you that my detox was more mental than physical and this week proved that more than anything!  I found myself resisting many temptations because of the weight I had lost the previous week.  It was so easy too!  Each morning, I would step on the scale to see the “damage” and each morning I would be excited to see that it was no more than your average +/- a pound (or less).

Now although I am excited to have maintained my weight loss throughout this week, I know that losing some would have been nice.  Now, let me say: I am not exercising right now and I know that will help.  I am adding exercise in next week and hope to see some sort of improvement!

I would also like to say that I was so inspired by all the encouragement I received last week.  I could not do this without encouragement and accountability!

Thank you!  Thank you!  Thank you!

I hope to continue this journey and change my habits so that my children can learn healthy habits to pass on to their children.

~ Jess Elaine

Reminder: if you would like to leave me a comment, you can click the “horseshoe shape” with the number in it located in the top right-hand corner!

Leave a Reply

