Stratton’s, Swimming, and Sweet Tea

Many great memories have been made this past month, so I thought I’d share a few with you…

1) For those of you not from around here, Stratton’s is a restaurant that has been open in Ashland City, TN for the past 40+ years.  The owners have decided to close their doors at the end of the month, but many great memories have been made there.  When my husband’s grandparents died in 2003 and 2006, Stratton’s was right across from the funeral home so after each funeral that’s where the family met up and reminisced about the years spent with Granny and Gramps.  So in honor of those memories, the Smith clan packed up and headed out to Ashland City to eat with Grandma, PeePaw, Aunt Katie, Uncle Chad, and cousin Anna.

 

2) I have worked with our church’s youth group since 2002.  When my husband and I met in 2005, he joined me and we’ve been volunteering ever since.  Our first group are already juniors in college and our second group are now juniors in high school.  To kick off the summer, our group of junior had a pool party and cook out.  The host’s house had a very nice swimming pool so we decided to see if our daughter enjoyed swimming.  Turns out…she loves it!!!!  She had such a good time and so did we!

3) This past Saturday, the family decided to head on out to Thompson’s Station, TN for the Sweet Tea Festival.  We’d never been before and it was free, so we decided to try it out!  The festival is located on a beautiful plantation of the Homestead Manor.  It’s the sight of the Civil War’s Battle of Thompson’s Station.
It was a beautiful day and we enjoyed walking around, sampling sweet tea, drinking lemonade, and taking pictures.  There was a cornhole tournament which my husband swears he’s going to enter next year.  He says he’s going to enlist my dad and win it all. 🙂  There were old cars on display, places for children to play, arts and crafts tents, and plenty of shade provided by huge magnolia trees.  Needless to say, it was a super fun day with the family and we will definitely be going back next year.

 

3 thoughts on “Stratton’s, Swimming, and Sweet Tea

  1. That’s a neat story about Stratton’s. I like how food can bring people together.

    Also, I can’t believe I missed the Sweet Tea Festival! I knew it was coming, but I forgot when it was. My daughter and I left Mama and the boy at home and went to Beech Bend instead.

Leave a Reply

