Unconditional Love

“For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.” ~John 3:16

I was driving home from the gym tonight and just let my mind wander.  It was a cool night (finally) so the window was down and I was feeling good.  I started thinking about my family…my wondeful husband and my beautiful daughter.  My daughter will be six months old next week.  It hardly seems right.  Six months seems long, but short.  It’s honestly hard to remember my life without her.  I got slightly emotional (and usually do) at the thought of my daughter.

I was not one of those pregnant women who loved being pregnant.  I had a fairly easy pregnancy, but that didn’t mean I liked it.  As my baby got bigger, I could feel her moving inside me.  Yes, that feeling is amazing, but for some reason it didn’t make me feel like I was bonding with her.  I was worried.  What if my baby came out and I didn’t feel anything?  I knew I loved her, but I didn’t have that overwhelming sense of love.  But on the day she was born, my world was rocked.  This tiny little person came into my life and changed it for the better.  My heart was flooded with love and it continues to get stronger every day.

John 3:16 came into my head as I was thinking about my daughter.  God gave up his son…he gave him up!!!!  For what?  For us, so we could live life freely and have grace and mercy and unconditional love from Him!  Could I ever do that?  It breaks my heart just to think about something bad happening to my daughter.  I’ve known this verse since I was a little girl in Sunday School, but it didn’t mean much until now.  It makes me have so much more respect for my God then I ever had. 

Thank you God for my amazing family and for blessing me with my daughter.  She is my light and my life and I will raise her up to forever praise Your name.

3 thoughts on “Unconditional Love

  1. One doesn’t realize the gift God gave until you have your own flesh and blood in your arms. I often think of this when we partake of the Lords’ Supper…could I sacrifice my son for the scoundrels of the earth? I don’t think so…and yet He did. Camille is so blessed to have been born into a family that loves the Lord like you do. Your Mom and Dad did a fantastic job with you kids, Jessica, Troy & Nicole!! and we did a pretty good job raising your Mom up to be a Believer…I think your Dad came along and that was the frosting on the cake because they both had the same outlook on life!! love you muchly, Grammie

Leave a Reply

