Anniversary Brinner

My husband and I celebrated three years on June 16th.  This is actually the first year we’ve been together on our actual anniversary.  The past two years, I’ve been traveling.  This year, we traveled to Chattanooga, TN for a weekend.  We went to Rock City (which was awesome!) and ate at a neat little restaurant called Tony’s Pasta Shop and Trattoria.

 

So for our actual anniversary, we invited my best friend and her family over for dinner.  I was in the mood for breakfast food, so I decided to make brinner (breakfast for dinner!).  I used regular Bisquick for the pancakes, but added a few things.  This was my way of experimenting 🙂  I added some sugar and vanilla to the batter before I mixed it all together.  This actually made the pancakes almost have a “melt in your mouth” taste…delicious!  Next I added chocolate chips (of course), but I also added some peanut butter chips I found in my pantry.  Needless to say, they were a hit!!!  Everyone loved them!  I also scrambled up some eggs to add to the meal.

Since it was our anniversary, I decided to dress the table up a bit.  I used wine glasses, our nice platters, and some candles.  We even used some wedding napkins we had left over from our wedding.  I thought it looked great!  This was a small step towards gaining more confidence around my household!

11 thoughts on “Anniversary Brinner

  1. I was there…and it tasted AWESOME! Brinner is always a good idea. Scrubs (the TV show) even did an etire episode on it!

  2. Nice job sweetie. Small steps all the way to the finish line. Set the goals and knock em down. The pancakes look wonderful. I am always up for breakfast for dinner.

  3. Hey! Loving the new blog! You may just inspire me to get my act together, but maybe after Charlotte likes sleeping more!!!

    • Thanks Tiffany! I didn’t start any of this until after Camille was a little more established in a routine. Even now I find it hard because she’s so wiggly and starting to roll and move. I figure I should start now so I can figure more out once she’s moving!

  4. First, happy anniversary!

    I’ve tried to explain Rock City to people, but I can’t. It sounds lame, but it’s really a neat place, and the views are great, even if it’s cloudy and you can’t see all 7 states, as advertised. (We saw Tennessee and I think Georgia, but I’m not sure.)

    P.S. You can’t go wrong with pancakes for dinner!

    • Thanks!
      I was actually one of those people who didn’t understand “Rock City”! But after going there and seeing it, I am all about telling people to go there. 🙂

  5. Hi my sweet….am so-o-o-o proud of you. You are one smart cookie so I know you will do just fine. Your Grammie didn’t know a thing about cooking when she got married…trial and error!!!

  6. Mmmmm… I might have to try those pancakes. Or maybe I’ll just have to make them over Thanksmas!! 🙂 Breakfast for dinner always hits the spot, no matter what you’re in the mood for!!

Leave a Reply

