Starting Small

For me, the key to becoming domestic is to start small.  In order for me to want to continue my quest, I have to celebrate the small things.  I’m still not going to magically wake up on morning and decide I’m going to clean the whole house.  Please!  I have to relish in the small accomplishments.  To many of you, my accomplishments will seem ridiculous.  But to me, accomplishing these things is a big deal.

Part of being domestically challenged means that I don’t want to cook, clean, do laundry, etc. I think part of my problem is laziness and that’s going to be the hardest hurdle to jump over.  I think the other problem I have is confidence.  Confidence that I can do these things and I can be a good housewife.  By celebrating my small victories, I believe I can gain the confidence I need to continue my journey. 

Here’s the first way I’m starting small.  I’ve invited my best friend and her family over once a week for dinner.  I’m going to cook something new every week (pretty much they’ve agreed to be my guinea pigs).  They have agreed to be honest about the meal and offer up any suggestions that might make the meal better.  Of course, if the meal turns out horrible, I’m going to have a frozen pizza in the freezer just in case!

I’ll blog about these meals and let you know if they turn out good…or bad!

5 thoughts on “Starting Small

  1. Have fun on your quest! I am sure that you will find that some parts of it become really fun and others are still chores. I look forward to hearing about your adventures!

  2. Awww!! If you need any recipes, call Grammie!! She always has something new up her sleeve!! Although, she’s addicted to google and will tell you to google it!! 🙂 Good luck!! And call me if you need any recipes!!

  3. great idea starting small! I can’t stand cleaning but I love to cook – so I pretty much have a deal with the boys in my house that when I cook they can help to clean up. makes life much easier 🙂

    i’m sure it is much more difficult with a baby but I find I just get into cleaning mode and do a million things in one go, then can relax for the rest of the day/week.

    Don’t put too much pressure on yourself to be the perfect housewife. We are living in 2010 and there are no rules saying that the woman has to do all the domestic chores! I would be a much better girlfriend if I was doing things that I love (would be happier) and the chores were done with help from the boy… it just takes some gentle nudging to get some help!!

    Thanks so much for linking to me on your blogroll!!

    • Thanks for reading!!!
      I’m trying not to put too much pressure on myself, but I think sometime society makes you feel like you’re a “bad” wife if you don’t do these certain household chores. I try not to listen, but after a while, it gets to you! I’m just taking it one day at a time!

Leave a Reply

