Domestically Challenged

Cooking AND Cleaning AND Childcare?  Oh my!

My name is Jessica.  I’m a wife and a mom.  I love my family.  I love my friends.  I love my life.

The problem?

I am domestically challenged!!!!  What does this mean?  Well, let’s just say cooking and cleaning are not my forte.  I never understood why these things were on the bottom of my “to-do” list until recently.  I’m the oldest of three and have the typical first-born mentality.  I struggle with perfection, wanting to do the right thing, and being embarrassed about failure.  I believe those things are/were keeping me from being the best wife and mom I can be.

So why the blog?

I’ve decided to take action!  After being called out by my mother (nicely of course!), I decided to start a journey on becoming a good housewife and I’m inviting you to be a part of my journey.  Maybe you’ve gone through something similar or maybe my adventures will just cause a giggle…either way…I hope you enjoy reading my journey on becoming domestic!

5 thoughts on “Domestically Challenged

  1. Even Martha Stuart had to begin somewhere! Be as creative as you want, but if you start making the baby hats out of doilies and crepe paper, I’ll have to intervene!

  2. I feel like I’m an older version of you. Reading this made me smile because you sound like me years ago (which means you’re gonna do great! Some days, just surviving is sufficient, but don’t worry about those days. They pass as quickly as they came.)

  3. Jessica, I totally get it. I didn’t know how to run a dishwasher until I was 24. Didn’t really start to learn to cook until I was mega-pregnant with my second child! I started freaking out and realized I had to feed my family! I still struggle with not enjoying cooking, but I kinda dig cleaning now. Makes me feel in control of my castle. And I love to decorate – which also motivates me to clean, so that it looks good! Welcome to the wide world of blogging!

Leave a Reply

